top of page

The Eggs

I wondered for many days why my presence near the precious eggs had not resulted in incineration, nor indeed attack of any kind. The point made though, that any visit would be on their terms, but I knew that I would not be so lucky next time. 

It was lucky that Merca had gotten back to the wall and safety, not realising that I had fallen, for I am sure that if she had come back for me I would now be alone, or perhaps we might both have perished together. We had now learned enough to know that staying so close to the nest site was foolish, and I wondered whether it was one of these two dragons that had sent the flames towards my friend from the tavern. 

We could still learn much about these creatures, but we must now do it from a distance. I had thought of the tribe that we had visited before we saw Mooda for the first time; it would be an interesting second visit. They would fear our work and cast deep suspicion on our purpose. It would be a last resort to ask for sanctuary there. But where would we go? There was only one place on my mind that would suit our needs nicely, to watch the dragons, and possibly others, to still be within a few hours walk from the nest site and of course, somewhere that would allow us to survive the wilds in some comfort, the river. 

Our camp was set up fully (at last) in the shade of an ancient oak, as Merca had put it, 'it shall provide us with more protection than canvas,' as I so often say she was right, the considerable breadth of its trunk, along with the other trees close by was enough to protect us from the worst that the wind could blast us, as well as providing shade from the downpour that came our first night there. 

I was least concerned for my welfare though, I would, if I didn't worry about Merca's own welfare, have stayed out in the open to watch the dragons at the cavern entrance, I knew that I would even take to spending long hours by the riverside, hoping for a glimpse of their magnificent prowess in the air. But I knew that my old bones would no longer take to being exposed in all weathers as I used to when I was much younger! 

I need not have worried about my aging body and the joy of watching for dragons in the exposed landscape being taken from me, for the adult male, Skeptre visited the riverside often. My curiosity must no get the better of me, under Merca's protection I was from myself whilst we hid in the rushes as the master of the air glided over the water's surface, just skimming the water in a shower of silver with his hind claws before dropping so suddenly that I nearly cried out in fear for him, only to be relieved as he revealed his reason for sudden drop, holding a fat fish, which I presume was a perch in his fore claws. I must say, he looked immensely pleased with his catch as he headed to the opposite bank to swallow the fish whole.  

We stayed by the bank for far longer than probably we should have done, indeed by the time Merca suggested that we ought to take leave of our studies and rest I was barely able to move; so stiff were my arms and legs that it may or may not have taken some time before I could make my own way back down the long track to our camp. 

The things I learnt that day, just by watching these beasts as they hunted was great. Fish could not satisfy the hunger of a full grown dragon for long, I was sure then that it would even sample the way we tasted if we baited it, although I supposed that the taste of human flesh was not satisfactory to them, no stories have upon my writing these words have yet reached my ears of a dragon ever hunting a human for food, the only attacks were never predatory, just defensive. 

Local tribes kept livestock to graze on the surrounding hills, at midday I saw Skeptre through my spyglass take just one lone ewe, it had wandered too far from the rest of the flock and had become easy prey. This meal was not eaten, but taken upstream, no doubt to its nest site. The eggs must be hatching...

I spoke with gusto at my findings that night, Merca, in all her genius had managed to catch us a meal whilst we watched Skeptre hunt. I was glad of her company, for I knew that I could never have had the foresight to stock up on our dwindling food supplies that day. She was of course stern when I suggested another visit to the cavern.Had I learnt my lesson? My fascination in all creatures always overtook any fear of danger. 

To my heart's delight, she agreed to come with me to the cavern before first light.

The chill stung as we arose, dew laden in the grass around us, a light mist lying still, concealing my view of the river through the trees. I cursed my body's unwillingness to move as I forced myself from the furs of my bed and made haste to begin our journey back to the cavern. Merca was stern that I should eat first, so a quick breakfast of porridge warmed my body before we set off.    

Most would call me foolish, you may even be saying so as you read these words, but rest assured my friend that this is not nearly as foolish as some of the things I did in my youth, I am an ageing man with a great spirit for adventure and discovery, I would be a fool to miss out on the opportunity. 

Through the dark and the cold we walked, catching our clothes on unseen branches about us. As the sun rose, a pinkish glow somewhere east of us, catching the tiny water droplets clinging onto the trees and casting a wash of light upon the rising hillside ahead of us. My old bones were still stiff and stubborn to allow me to move as fast as I desired, perhaps a good thing for I may have forgotten myself and awoken the sleeping hulk of the mother inside the cavern. 

I saw no sign of Skeptre, but Merca bade me to keep my distance. So in the quiet I watched the shadowy form rise and fall with each breath. As dawn became more prominent and the light entered the cavern so I could see the emerald of Mooda's spikes down her back, she stirred. Wing beats pummeled the trees above and I saw the shadowy form of Skeptre land a distance from me beside the cavern. He walked slowly, with all the grace that I could never have afforded myself or any other and nudged his mate with his nose. 

Slowly she arose and snorted; they met eye to eye and she shifted her bulk. Those yellow eyes were evermore beautiful in this light. She finally moved and stretched as a light morning breeze chilled my face, I saw her scales glisten to a pinkish hue in the light as she carefully stepped from her nest and Skeptre tip-toed to her place. 

In the briefest of moments, i saw the blind, whitened form of its young lift its head; nowhere near as beautiful as its parents, but beauty in the making. Two eggs, were still yet to hatch beside it...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page